Giants Fall

PicMonkey Collage

Francesca Battistelli’s song Giants Fall plays in the background as I listen to the birds chirping outside my window. The soft lyrics reach my ears and they caress my soul.

Don’t you be afraid
Of giants in your way
With God you know that anything’s possible
So step into the fight
He’s right there by your side
The stones inside your hand might be too small
But watch the giants fall

I cannot say that today is the first day I have struggled with the thoughts of leaving my beloved home. I think about the lush cornfields, the hustle and bustle of two nephews running in through the back door, and the late night giggles with my family. And the photos I posted above create a frame of beauty, home, and history.

4.7.2015. I found out who my host family will be. The anticipation I feel coursing through my heart all the way to my fingertips is an exhilarating feeling. I not only have my family here in PA, but now I will be joined to another family! With this anticipation the giant rears its head and attacks once again. “Change is coming!” this taunt, this outcry slams against the wall of my heart. Why?

My giant–my giant, if you do not know already, that stands over me and jeers at me is change. This giant breathes down my neck and grips its cold fingers to suffocate the precious value of what this internship does and is. It takes away the curiousness that goes along with this adventure. It eliminates opportunities of growth and transformation. And knowing that, I now have a choice to make. Do I allow the suffocation to overtake me or do I go to truth?

Proverbs 16:1-3 “The plans of the heart belong to man, but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord. All the ways of a man are pure in his own eyes, but the Lord weighs the spirit. Commit your work to the Lord, and your plans will be established.”

I pick up my stones. With God right by my side, I stand to throw my stones at my giant of change. Refusing to allow fear to keep me here and allowing His guidance to preserve me, to lead me. Let’s be honest this change will continue to effect my life when I get there, as I am living there doing ministry, and when I leave after the internship is done.

Remember when I asked you to pray for me? This giant is not big enough that God cannot handle it. In fact, no giant I face will ever be big enough that God cannot handle it. But please pray with me as I face these giants and battle them. The hope I have is that the war has already been won!

Giants will fall. I Samuel 17: 45 Then David said to the Philistine, “You come to me with a sword and with a spear and with a javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. What giants do you face today?? I am not the only one who has giants in life. Remember the same Lord who helped David defeat the stubborn, ill-mannered, evil Goliath is the same one who helps you defeat the giant standing at the door of your heart.

Focus on giants – you stumble.
Focus on God – Giants tumble.

~Max Lucado~

 

Leave a Reply

