J.O.Y.

IMG_0258 (2)

J.O.Y

What does this have to do with anything?

Psalm 16:11

You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore. 

The main point I want to share today is living in the overflow of JOY. Choosing joy is not easy my friends. I found that out this week. Ever have computer problems? Yeah, I do not have the nickname of “computer genius”, and I know that shocks a lot of you! (; Just kidding! But back to the story. My  computer decided to wreck havoc in my life on Monday, April 27, 2015. Technology and I have a rough relationship. My computer appeared to be working but the screen was similar to that of a black abyss. My files were not backed up either. ALWAYS BACK UP YOUR STUFF! (Wise words conveyed in an irritated voice from my mother).

Shock infiltrated most of my body. Questions peppered my mind during this time. Questions such as, but certainly not limited to, “Why now?”, “What am I going to do?”, “How am I going to have time to re-type Power points or restart projects?”.

In Sunday School this past Sunday I was challenged to choose joy. Joy is a state of being. It is a choice believe it or not. In that moment when I asked those questions I heard one distinct question silencing the cries of the rest.

“Will you choose joy, Ashlea?”

I was thankful no one was passing the computer lab as I sat crying and talking to God out loud. One would think I was crazy! What a thought! (; In fact, I was humbled again that night by the faithful hand of my Savior. Sitting down, covering my face with my hands and allowing the tears to flow freely, I choose joy over the present dire circumstance. Now I in no way am able to do this on my own. The grace that I was bestowed just illuminates the beauty of my Savior. But I do have to tell you that even as I told Him that I was choosing to be joyful, I told Him that I still was going to cry. He is my best friend after all and He knew I would keep crying anyway. But just so all of you know my computer is alive and well because God has designed human beings with an innate computer genius to help those of us (cough-cough, me) who have no idea what they are doing. God is faithful to bless those who are obedient.

Lastly, I want to express to you in this blog post that choosing to live in the overflow of joy is not easy and I do not want to portray it as such. But it is one of the things that I can choose at the beginning every day. And when that becomes my heart desire it does become easier to choose joy. I want to conclude this post with truth. I could not say it better myself.

Romans 15:13

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

–Live in the overflow of JOY.–

Leave a Reply

