Quality in the Real World

2 Corinthians 5:17

“If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new as come.”

When one thinks of quality I have to wonder what definitions come to mind? Quality…Quality…Quality. For those of you who keep track of my blog and read it understand that I recently transitioned from the farmlands of Pennsylvania to the suburbs of Ohio. That is a complete shift.

New family, new church, new friends all accompanied my move. But I do need to admit two things, I80-West is an eye-opening, beautiful highway and in addition to that I got to cross off an item on my bucket list! The item that I crossed off was to eat alone in a restaurant. Do not be sorry for me! I enjoyed eating at Perkins by myself! In fact, below I have my picture!

Perkins Journey

Cheesy. Yes. And right now my mom is probably looking at this picture and silently shaking her head because apparently I cannot take a normal picture to save my life. I enjoy the way I can make my face contort. It spices life up a little bit!

So back to I80-West. I traveled that lovely interstate for 297 miles of my journey. I must tell you that not getting lost was the biggest triumph of my day! I made it safely to the Oshunniyi’s home and was warmly welcomed by Dara, their oldest daughter. Walking into the home that would house me for the next year escalated the excitement I was already feeling to a new height. I gained a new family, one which assured me on the first day that I would be loved and cared for. And not once have I lacked love and care. Blessings abound here in Ohio. Below I have a picture of me, Dara, and Ife, their other daughter.

11295934_10206807492254146_9202393591613279891_n

I love these girls. My host sisters have not replaced my other sisters, in fact it helps with my missing my sisters. They remind me a lot about Katie and Faith in various ways. Humor is definitely one way. Dara and Ife make me laugh to the point where I still wonder how I do not have a six-pack. Actually, Dara and I were attempting with valiant efforts but to no avail. It is safe to say that the Lord orchestrated the perfect family to host me over the course of this next year.

This week, Sunday through Thursday, was the first week of official orientation, which all takes place at Cuyahoga Valley Church. Overwhelmed by the warmness, the genuine care, and the passion this church has really helped with the peace I was already feeling about this decision. Being in the office working with my team, the old intern team, and Rick and Joe has really given me the time to evaluate the word quality. Quality’s definition is character with respect to fineness, or grade of excellence. These people are quality in this world. They strive for excellence and I appreciate that and am grateful for it. It is only by His grace. Grace that extends to all of us. So thankful.

Please pray for me as I continue my journey! Prayer is one of the biggest avenues that you can support me.

“I have now concentrated all my prayers into one, and that one prayer is this, that I may die to self, and live wholly to Him.”

~Charles Spurgeon~

Galatians 6:9

“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.”

Leave a Reply

