Hold On

Sickness has overtaken this girl’s life. From a fever to water clogging one of my ears, to stomach pain, to losing my voice, this past week has certainly taken its toll. But I need to brag on part of my team for a little bit. I have a pretty bammin’ crew. I was never left alone to figure out how to deal with handling these repulsive infirmities. Alaina and Rachel took the role of becoming Mother Hens. It was humbling to be cared for by these two godly women. In addition, my host family has never stopped earnestly praying for me.

FullSizeRender

This was the first “real” work week. It did not consist so much of orientation, rather we were assigned tasks this week which made this job/internship all the more real. Meetings, coffee dates, white-board sessions all compile together to make this week simply spectacular. I am surrounded by a cluster of people daily that push, challenge, and strive for godliness and holiness. I am a blessed lady.

So many of you celebrated Memorial’s Day this past Monday and it was definitely a holiday I celebrated and was also saddened by. It reminded me that I was not home with my family. But the privilege I was given this past week was to accompany Rachel and her host family to go to their party. It was not the same as being with my own family but it did patch the hole I was feeling. There have been many times that I have been reminded that I am not home and it makes me revel in excitement for the time when I do see them again! The statement “to live fully right where I am” has been stretched and has caused my mind, my heart to focus on the honor I have to be here in Cleveland serving with Cuyahoga Valley Church.

IMG_1102

 Did I mention that I have been well-taken care of here? Spiritually, I have been feed. Physically, I have been pushed. Mentally, I have been challenged. One of my favorite phrases that I hear over and over in the office is…

“Trust The Process”

I did not realize that trusting the process meant in the state of sickness too. But I have been holding on. I have struggled with my attitude and my perspective. One verse I was challenged with this past week was Hebrews 12:11:

“For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.”

Patience is definitely one of the disciplines I have been learning this past week. I cannot do this on my own. And the results or the healing I want are not always immediate. What I can choose is how I react, how I respond, and what attitude I display. Two weeks ago I hopped in my Ford and became a traveler, an explorer. Some people ask if I regret my decision. There is no thread of doubt that Cleveland is where I need to be. I ask continually for prayer not only for me but my ministry. The people here are God’s holy ground and I do see the responsibility and blessing of this. I pray not to take it for granted.

Finally, I want to leave you with two of my favorite things that happened this past week. Cookies and Ice cream. In fact, homemade chocolate chip cookies happened this week and I had my first tasting of Honey Hut ice cream, which just so you are aware they replace the sugar in their ice cream with honey. One thing you should know is that the Oshunniyi’s like their cookie mix but not after trying homemade cookies. Ife stated several times that she is never going back. That did my baking heart a little good. (: Enjoy the pictures!

IMG_1128

honey hut

Leave a Reply

