Just Call Me Christopher Columbus

→ Explorer ←

I went to my first Bob Evans on June 5, 2015. Oh yes, I had the privilege of Alaina’s and Caleb’s camaraderie that cloudless, sunny morning. These two people have sharpened my life in ways I cannot even begin to describe. Proverbs 27:17 “As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” This treasure of truth describes my two devoted friends. It is safe to say that I am fortunate to have these two in my life.

Breakfast

In addition, I need to brag about my host family once again. My lovely family continues to bestow kindness to me as I stay here in their care. Dara has joined me in becoming an explorer herself on a different capacity this past week.This past Saturday she was known as a high school student and the next day  became a college student. We, as a family, celebrated and rejoiced together as we watched Dara walk across the stage, grasp her long-awaited diploma, and turn the tassel that signified a new chapter in her life. Smiles erupted and laughter ensued as we all gathered together to express our exuberant joy over God’s faithfulness to Dara’s seventeen years in high school.

Graduation

The next step was entering into life as a college student. Kent State is a beautiful university and Dara was privileged to enter into a great program that launches her into college life quite nicely, so proud of her.

KentState

One thing that I continue to learn through this family is their discipline of prayer. Difficulties are not unknown and pushed aside. Instead the Oshunniyi’s point me to pray without ceasing and go figure that is exactly what God says in His word. I Thessalonians 5:17 says, “pray without ceasing“. Let’s do it.

Recently, I have been reading a book by Bill Hybels called Too Busy Not To Pray. “Prayer is the key to unlocking God’s prevailing power in your life“. Wow. Can you just take a moment and let that quote soak into every pore that makes up your body? When we do not pray we reject the opportunity to allow God’s power to blow our minds, again. Lately, God has given so much grace to me as I grapple to understand the discipline of a purposeful, intimate prayer life.

Now I know that the title of this blog post is kind of weird, but it does have a purpose. Christopher Columbus discovered the new world. And here in Cleveland I believe that every day I discover something new in this “new world”. I identify new coffee nooks. I catch flying frisbee discs. I recognize the deepening of relationships that will last a life-time.

Coffffeee

My concluding thought is this, if I could capture the beauty of this life that was created from the beginning of time, I would. But I am thankful for all of the people who seek to love and support me with their prayers, their cards, and their calls. I cannot capture all the moments, but I do try my best. Enjoy reading! I hope you all have a great Thursday!

glory

Leave a Reply

