Are You Satisfied?

 { Happy New Year }

2016

The end has come for the year 2015. My personal movie reel of 2015 plays over in my mind as I recall memories, trials, triumphs, and changes .

In 2015, I graduated college, moved to a new state,  gained another family, began working in youth ministry, became an aunt for the third time, and started dating my best friend.  That list is certainly not limited to those things, but those are all quite significant.

With each new year the slate is wiped clean, right? It’s a time of facing those bad habits you formed over the last year. It’s a time of laughing until you cry because you are cherishing fun memories. It’s a time of recounting loss and seeing  triumphs.

In the Oshunniyi household we have asked ourselves this question as we jump into 2016, “Are you satisfied”? This question stems from A.W. Tozer’s work, The Pursuit of God. On page 20,  Tozer composed a prayer that strikes the reader with his intense emotion while exposing his desire to have an unquenchable thirst for God.

“O God, I have tasted Thy goodness, and it has both satisfied me and made me thirsty for more. I am painfully conscious of my need of further grace. I am ashamed of my lack of desire. O God, the Triune God, I want to want Thee; I long to be filled with longing; I thirst to be made more thirsty still. Show me Thy glory I pray Thee, that so I may know Thee indeed. Begin in mercy a new work of love within me. Say to my soul, “Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away.” Then give me grace to rise and follow Thee up from this misty lowland where I have wandered so long.”

In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Are you satisfied?

As a believer, I am so easily satisfied. But, like Tozer, I echo his heart cry to be both satisfied but thirsty for more of God. I need his grace to rise and follow him.

I recently read a blog post entitled, “I Should Be Engaged.” by E. Corinne Rogero. The foundation of her carefully typed script was focused on the engagement of her heart in the present life she has been gifted with. She asks this question:

“Will you be engaged with me? Will you spend more time being present in the present and interacting with the current landscape and giving the enemy a good dose of his own fear as your heart and mind sync up with these points in time that touch eternity?

Because we have a God who’s engaged and none of us did anything to deserve his fullness in every moment.”

I highly recommend this read. This is the link to her blog post if you desire to read the whole post.  http://corinnerogero.com/2016/01/08/i-should-be-engaged/.

I want to thirst for MORE. I want to engage MORE. I want to love and obey Him MORE.

Again, I must emphasize her profound statement. “We have a God who’s engaged and none of us did anything to deserve his fullness in every moment.” Every time I read those words I feel the chill spread from my toes to my fingertips. IT is powerful to see that the God of this universe delights and fully engages with us.

~~Jeremiah 15:16 says, “Your words were found, and I ate them, and your words became to me a joy and the delight of my heart for I am called by your name, O Lord, God of hosts.~~

Fellow followers of Jesus, the words of our Lord are to be the joy and and delight of our hearts! We are called by His name. We are seen as His precious children. Live fully engaged in that identity!

Every day we should ask if we are merely satisfied with what we know about our Father or if we are both satisfied and thirst to know more and more the heart of our Father.

I am thankful for the year 2015, but the year 2016 is here and I am moving forward to live fully engaged in the identity that I am a beloved child. I will continue to ask myself if I am just merely satisfied or if I thirst for more.

One Year Goes, Another Year Comes

Many pictures. Many memories. Family will always remain my favorite. (: It was a great time home for Christmas. One of my favorite gifts this Christmas was the opportunity to date my best friend. December 22, 2015 will be forever engraved in my heart. (:

Family engulfed the Christmas holiday! It was a blessed time of fellowship and laughter. I do not have enough words to share the memories, to express my thankfulness, or my love. All I can say is thank you, thank you, thank you.

View More: http://courtneybondphotography.pass.us/christmas-2015

View More: http://courtneybondphotography.pass.us/christmas-2015

Life continues to move forward in a rapid pace here. Winter Retreat is coming and it is our second largest retreat here at the church. It is an exciting time! We are studying the passage of Ephesians 6, dealing with spiritual warfare.

Family

I’ve also had the opportunity to write several book reviews for my boss. If you are looking for awesome resources or some books to read his site is a one of a kind and very helpful. Here is the link http://joevalenti.me/. You can also read some of my book reviews on there as well.

 

Babyboy

All in all, keep praying for me as I journey here. It has been an incredible, life-changing journey. Thank you for all who support me with prayer and asking how I am doing!

Have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

